[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
[phpBB Debug] PHP Notice: in file [ROOT]/includes/session.php on line 2208: Array to string conversion
www.undertowsoftware.com • View topic - What is the best object/metho to use with external database?
Page 1 of 1

What is the best object/metho to use with external database?

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2013 8:56 am
by BobPark
I have a situation where I want to mark certain locations on the map and identify them using fiends from a large database we are using. I know there are probably many different ways to do that, but I am looking for advise as to what might be preferable. For example, I would probably like to have small rectangles or polygons identify the points each in a different color depending on the database contents, and possibly also using some alphanumerics from the database to label the points. I am guessing I may eventually have up to 10,000 points or so, if that makes a difference.

Thanks

Re: What is the best object/metho to use with external datab

PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:40 am
by UShadow
It depends on your style and your specific requirements. For quick stuff, I like using the built-in CAD marks. For things that are a bit more involved or I need some more flexibility, I user the UserObject layer. They have both worked fine for me on different projects.

Re: What is the best object/metho to use with external datab

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:46 pm
by BobPark
Thanks, Ushadow. For now, I am using the CAD object and it's working just fine. Don't know what the performance will be like when I get up to many thousands of points, but I guess I'll have to wait and see ;-)